Sam Richey
President, Board of Directors

Sam Richey has been on the Board since 2015 and a volunteer for Spencer County Hospice for 15 years. He is semi-retired, a Navy Seabee Veteran, works for Obermeier Hardware as needed, and has a CDL A license. Sam is also a member of the American Legion, Hadi Shriners, Grandview Masonic Lodge and Trinity United Methodist Church.

Debbie Steinkamp
Treasurer, Board of Directors

Beverly Symon
Board of Directors

Beverly Symon has served as secretary of Spencer County Hospice Board of Directors since 2011.  She has a BA in English and French Education, an MA in Library Science and an Indiana Librarian II certificate. Beverly serves on the Library Committee and the Classic Car Committee at St. Bernard Church, is a charter member and treasurer of the Kiwanis Club of South Spencer, a charter member of Spencer County Christian Education Foundation, and a member of Rockport American Legion Auxiliary. 

Beverly lives in Rockport with her husband Bill.  They have 3 children and 5 grandchildren.  She recently retired from Spencer County Public Library where she served as director for 36 years.

Jennifer Newton
Assistant to Admistrative Director

Jennifer Newton is the assistant to the Administrative Director.  She graduated from Owenboro Community College with an Associate Degree in Business Management.  She worked at US Bank for six years as a teller and in the mortgage area.  Jennifer has also worked at Sovar Chiropractic for two years.  

Jennifer is a lifelong resident of Spencer County.  Jennifer and her husband Travis live in Rockport with their 2 boys.


Nancy Young, RN
Bereavment Coordinator, Staff Nurse

Nancy graduated from Vincennes University Nursing Program in June of 1969.  She worked in various positions at the University, and worked for St. Mary’s Hospital and Welborn Hospital as a pediatric nurse for 8 years.

Nancy and her husband Bill decided to move to Spencer County in November of 1973. There she worked for 10 years at Reo Family Practice, for 3 years at Tri-Cap in Rockport, and for 4 years at Echo Clinic in Evansville.

Nancy has worked as a hospice nurse for Spencer County Hospice since February, 2008.  Nancy says, “I feel that this certainly is what I have always been meant to do.  It is a privilege to care for our people here in Spencer County.”

Beth Haywood, RN
Client Care Coordinator, Administrative Director

Beth Haywood graduated nursing school from Henderson Community College in 2004 and has 4 years of ICU nursing experience, 4 years of women's services, and two years with Spencer County Hospice since June 2012. Beth has lived in Spencer County for 8 years. Beth and her husband Chris live in Rockport with their three boys.

Jennifer Hamilton
Hospice Social Worker

Jennifer Hamilton has been a resident of Spencer County for the past 11 years, is married and has two children.  She has a Master's Degree in Social Work from USI and is a licensed clinical social worker in the State of Indiana.  Her background is in adult mental health and child welfare.  She provides therapy to individuals and families who are dealing with trauma, loss, grief, and behavorial and mental health issues.  She has been a part of the Spencer County Hospice team since 2013.

Ron Kreilein

Spiritual Counselor

Cheryl Crawford MD
Hospice Medical Director, Board of Directors

Dr. Cheryl Crawford, a Family Practice physician, has been volunteer Medical Director for Spencer County Hospice since 1996 and on the Board of Directors since 2012. She studied chemistry at IU Southeast, received her M.D. from IU School of Medicine, and completed her Family Practice residency at Baptist Hospital in Gadsden, AL.  She is also on the Board of Directors for Stir-N-Up Hope, a member of the Santa Claus Optimist Club, and attends Santa Claus United Methodist Church.

Rachel A. Hurm
Board of Directors

Rachel Hurm has been a Board member since January, 2015.  She is a registered nurse (retired), attended Ferdinand High School and Deaconess Hospital School of Nursing.  She is a member of St. Bernard Catholic Church.

Vicki Singleton
Volunteer Coordinator, Board of Directors

Vicki Singleton has been a Board member since 2012.  She is an independent insurance broker for Vicki Singleton Insurance Services.  She is a graduate of Western Kentucky University with a Bachelors in Business Education.  She licensed in health, life, auto, home and long-term care.  Vicki has also been a member of the Chamber of Commerce, Wendell Foster Human Rights Board and Committee Chair for Friday After Five.

Kerry D. Dougan
Board of Directors

Kerry Dougan has been on the Board since 2015.  He is an Account Manager for Mulzer Crushed Stone, Inc.  He has a B.S. in Business Management. He is also a member of the Lincoln Economic Development Corp.

Terri L. Atkinson

Board of Directors

Terri Atkinson has been a member of the Board since 2015.  She is Executive Assistant at Daramic, LLC, and has an Associate of Arts degree from Owenboro Community College.  Terri is a member of Trinity United Methodist Church and former Treasurer of the Owensboro Art Guild.

Susan Harris
Board of Directors

Susan Harris is the current Treasurer of Spencer County and formerly employed at Integra Bank.  She attended South Spencer High School and Univeristy of Evansville.  Susan is a member of Trinity United Methodist Church.

Lois J. Smith
Board of Directors

Lois Smith is a retied Nursing Assistant.  She attended Rockport High School.  She is a member of the American Legion Auxiliary in Owensboro.

Missy Finney
Board of Directors

Missy Finney is a Financial Center Manager and current Treasurer of Spencer County Hospice.  She attended University of Southern Indiana and is a member of Junior Achievement.

Jim Buckles
Board of Directors

Jim Buckles is retired Guidiance Counselor from Heritage Hills High School.  He has a BS from University of Kentucky and a Masters from Indiana University.  He is a member of St. Martin, 4-H Leadership, Masonic Lodge, Teachers Association and Farm Bureau.